Welcome to the School of Business and Entrepreneurship. Our programmes allow students to study what they truly desire.


The School offers a number of programmes designed to provide students with a global business perspective and tools for business problem solving using best practices and modern methodologies. The School seeks to prepare students to face the challenging, competitive and dynamic business world. The School provides high-quality undergraduate and graduate business education and specialised business training supporting the labour force needs of Trinidad and Tobago and the Caribbean businesses, non-profit, and governmental organizations.


 

Mission statement

The mission of the School of Business is to provide world-class business education through high academic standards, superior teaching, quality research, significant service, and the effective use of technology.

Vision statement

An evolving learning community, reaching out to provide opportunities for critical learning experiences on campus and throughout the world.

The School of Business is home to two departments.


 

Department of Accounting, Finance and Economics

Chairperson: Ms. Esther Cedeno
email: cedeno@usc.edu.tt

The Accounting, Finance and Economics Department provides students with skills essential to managing and utilizing principles governing the measurement, analysis, interpretation and communication of financial data. The undergraduate Accounting Major is an ACCA Accredited Programme. It is designed to prepare students for ACCA or CPA certification. It provides a solid foundation of critical analytical skills, promotes ethical awareness, enhances communication and networking skills, and introduces regulatory compliance. Accounting is a framework of successful business operations. The Economics Major provides students with skills that are useful in a variety of settings as economic competencies are important in both the public and private sectors. The department has three degree programmes designed for students to excel in their respective fields. The department also offers three minors. They are:

  1. Bachelor of Science in Accounting
  2. Bachelor of Science in Economics
  3. Bachelor of Business Administration in Finance

Department of Marketing, Management, Human Resource Management and Hospitality & Tourism Management

Chairperson: Mrs. Stacey Simmons-Roberts
email: simmonss@usc.edu.tt

The department of Marketing, Management, Human Resource Management and Hospitality & Tourism Management offers four degree programmes that prepare students for careers in Hospitality and tourism industry, business administration, general management, people management and marketing. Our majors are designed to prepare students to become employers, managers or employees, to increase students understanding of how companies operate, and to provide insights and perspectives into organisations major activities. Students who pursue and successfully complete a major in Human Resource Management will have completed part of the preparation for the Human Resource Management Certified Professional Certification (SHRM – CP) Exam. Other professional certifications opportunities become available to students who complete degrees in Marketing and Management. Degrees within this department include:

  1. Associate of Science in General Business
  2. Bachelor of Business Administration in Human Resource Management
  3. Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing
  4. Bachelor of Business Administration in Management
  5. Bachelor of Business Administration in Hospitality and Tourism Management

 

Faculty and Staff at the School of Business and Entrepreneurship

Name of Lecturer

Qualification

Email Address

Areas of Specialty

Sherri-Lyn Legall (Interim Dean)

Ph.D (Cand.) MBA, SHRM-CP

legalls@usc.edu.tt

Human Resource and Management

Esther Cedeno (Chairperson AFE)

MBA

cedeno@usc.edu.tt

Accounting

Stacey Simmons-Roberts (Chairperson MMHH)

MBA, CIM

simmonss@usc.edu.tt

Marketing

Del Phillips

MBA

del@usc.edu.tt

Management

Jeremiah Eton

Ph.D

etonj@usc.edu.tt

Economics

Lyndrison Lincoln

MSc

lincolnl@usc.edu.tt

Economics, Finance & Statistics

Odell Jueanville

MSc, EdD (Cand.)

jueanvilleo@usc.edu.tt

Management & Human Resource Management

Stephen Pilgrim Ph.D pilgrim_s@usc.edu.tt

Finance & Economics

Sally Deosingh MBA, CPA deosinghs@usc.edu.tt Accounting & Finance

 

Adjunct Faculty

 

Brian Scotland MBA

scotlandb@usc.edu.tt

Management & Human Resource Management

Clifford Hamilton

MSc

hamiltonc@usc.edu.tt

Hospitality and Tourism

Cynthia Ward

MA, MAT

cward@usc.edu.tt

Business Education & Communication

Joshua Sandy

MSc

sandyj@usc.edu.tt

Accounting & Finance

Natalia Francois

MBA

francoisn@usc.edu.tt

Accounting & Finance

Roger Edwards

MBA, DBA

edwardsr@usc.edu.tt

Management & Human Resource Management

Keisha Peters LLB, LEC petersk@usc.edu.tt  Business Law
Duane Winchester MSc duanew@usc.edu.tt Economics
Akeisha Alexis-St. Hilaire MSc alexis-sthilairea@usc.edu.tt Statistics
Prakash Ramoutar CA,CFE,CIA,FCCA,MBA,PhD ramoutarp@usc.edu.tt Accounting

 

Contact the School of Business & Entrepreneurship

Telephone: (868) 612-4USC(4872) exts. 2900/2902/2917

Email: schoolofbusiness@usc.edu.tt